Dr. Hetrick is a clinical psychologist whose research interests focus on the behavioral, cognitive, and biological bases of severe psychological disorders, such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and autism. His laboratory uses behavioral, cognitive, and electrophysiological methods, including EEG, EMG, MRI, and brain stimulation techniques.  A specific focus of his research lab over the past decade has been the study of cerebellar involvement in psychological disorders.  The research laboratory has been highly productive, resulting in over 100 peer-reviewed publications and hundreds of conference presentations.  Professor Hetrick’s research program has received strong grant support from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). 

His teaching is focused on clinical and translational research, dimensional approaches to psychopathology, abnormal psychology, evidence-based practice, intervention and evaluation, and foundations of clinical psychology at both the undergraduate and doctoral levels. These efforts have received recognition by receipt of the IU Trustee’s Teaching Award in 2007 and again in 2012. He is involved in research training of psychology, neuroscience, cognitive science, and psychiatry doctoral students.  He presently serves as director of a National Institute of Mental Health T32 Research Training Grant in clinical translational research.

Dr. Hetrick serves as Chair of the Department of Psychological and Brian Sciences and co-director of the Clinical and Cognitive Neuroscience Center at the Indiana University School of Medicine with Dr. Brian O’Donnell.  He serves on the executive boards of the Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology (COGDOP) and of the Psychological Clinical Science Accreditation System (PCSAS).  Before joining the faculty at Indiana University in 1999, he completed a PhD in clinical psychology at The Ohio State University, a clinical fellowship at McLean Hospital and Harvard University Medical School, and a bachelor’s degree in psychology with a minor in computer science from Point Loma Nazarene University.